Voting Station

Miami Marlins

Please vote to return to collections.

Sports Team

The Resume

    (July 5, 1991- )
    Approved as a National League team (July 5, 1991) and known as the Florida Marlins for 19 seasons
    Made major league debut on April 6, 1993
    Two time National League Champions (1997, 2003)
    Two-time World Series Champions (1997, 2003)
    World Series MVPs were Livan Hernandez (1997) and Josh Beckett (2003)
    Al Leiter (1996), Kevin Brown (1997) and A.J. Burnett (2001) have thrown no-hitters
    Jeff Conine was named NL All-Star game MVP (1995)

Why they might be annoying:

    Owner H. Wayne Huizenga said that he was losing 30-some million dollars in 1997 to Joe Robbie Stadium even though he owned the stadium.
    From the 1997 World Series team up until now, the Marlins had been a team that average a few thousand people per night and around trade-deadline time are more than happy to unload on good players with medium-to-high salaries.
    They play in a stadium built for football and in the middle of the ghetto.
    They were compared to Walter Mathau's Bad New Bears (1997).
    They are constantly battling with the city of Miami for a new ballpark.
    After winning the World Series, their fans spent the whole night driving down the streets of Miami honking their horns preventing people from going to sleep. (2003)
    Beckett mumbled the word 'shit' in his post-game interview after game 6 of the 2003 World Series.

Why they might not be annoying:

    After owner H. Wayne Huizenga came out and said that he was going to lose 30-some million dollars that year, he committed himself to make a run for the playoffs and then deal with the situation after the season ended. They ended up winning the NL Wild Card, beating the Giants and Braves in the National League playoffs, and then beating the Indians in 7 games for the World Series championship.
    They won the World Series in their first attempt.
    Their World Series game 7 was one of the most exciting baseball games ever, coming down to the Marlins' final at bat against the opposing teams closer.
    Jeff Conine was snubbed from playing in his first All-Star game, but in the following year won MVP honors by hitting the game-winning home run, making him the only Marlin to win that honor.
    They were the fastest expansion team to win the World Series until the Arizona Diamondbacks did it a few years later.
    They have arguably one of the best farm systems.
    Second baseman Luis Castillo had a 35-game hit streak which was the longest by any second baseman ever and was also the longest hit streak since 1987.
    They to this day provide bobble-heads of former fan favorites, like Craig Counsell, Edgar Renteria, Benito Santiago and Jeff Conine.
    They won their first six playoff series.
    Despite being underdogs they managed to beat the odds three straight times during the 2003 playoffs by beating the Giants, the Cubs and the Yankees.

Credit: His Name is Robert

Featured in the following Annoying Collections:

Year In Review:

    For 2021, as of last week, Out of 39 Votes: 7.69% Annoying
    In 2021, Out of 72 Votes: 47.22% Annoying
    In 2020, Out of 50 Votes: 42.00% Annoying
    In 2019, Out of 8 Votes: 87.50% Annoying
    In 2018, Out of 28 Votes: 50.0% Annoying
    In 2017, Out of 11 Votes: 54.55% Annoying
    In 2016, Out of 29 Votes: 65.52% Annoying
    In 2015, Out of 17 Votes: 58.82% Annoying
    In 2014, Out of 20 Votes: 55.00% Annoying
    In 2013, Out of 9 Votes: 66.67% Annoying
    In 2012, Out of 20 Votes: 80.0% Annoying
    In 2011, Out of 19 Votes: 63.16% Annoying
    In 2010, Out of 27 Votes: 66.67% Annoying
    In 2009, Out of 90 Votes: 67.78% Annoying
    In 2008, Out of 231 Votes: 75.32% Annoying
    In 2007, Out of 105 Votes: 74.29% Annoying
    In 2006, Out of 445 Votes: 70.11% Annoying
    In 2005, Out of 1238 Votes: 69.71% Annoying
    In 2004, Out of 1606 Votes: 70.61% Annoying
    In 2003, Out of 1087 Votes: 63.48% Annoying